European Union

The European Union (EU) is made up of 28 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.

With the aim of promoting employment, employability and business development in the Southern Mediterranean region and within the overall framework of the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI), now replaced by the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI), the European Union agreed with its partner countries from the Southern Mediterranean to a series of focused technical assistance programmes, which include the development of clusters in cultural and creative industries in the Southern Mediterranean.

The project, implemented by the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), will take stock of existing national and regional clusters activities and experiences in the region, and will liaise where appropriate with the European Creative Industries Alliance and the Mediterranean Creative Industries Alliance. Furthermore, the project will complement the ENPI as well as regional programmes for private sector development activities, green entrepreneurship, intercultural dialogue and cultural diversity, and relevant future programmes.

As a very strong supporter of inclusive and sustainable development, the EU currently supports private sector development initiatives at the macro, meso and micro level in the Southern Mediterranean.


Learn more